Voices from the Old Bailey: Exploring the Old Bailey’s online archive

Link: Voices from the Old Bailey: Exploring the Old Bailey’s online archive

A new blog post to accompany the radio series from one of the project directors, Tim Hitchcock

I look for emotions, and when I find them, it seems as if all the fancy dress, and generations of difference immediately fall away in the face a simple feeling. When we were looking for trials that could bring the Old Bailey Proceedings to life on air that was my strategy. I searched for particular kinds of words and phrases: frightened, terror, ‘out of my wits’, ‘shaking with fear’, and what came up again and again, were trials in which the harrowing emotional experience of a single crime are described by the people who suffered it.

This entry was posted in link and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.